City News

Posted on: November 13, 2017

Filing period for Council candidacy opens November 14

Citizens interested in running for a City Council seat in April 2018 may pick up their nominating petitions from the City Clerk starting Tuesday, November 14, 2017. Petitions must be returned to the City Clerk by 5 p.m., January 9, 2017 to be eligible for the April 3, 2018 election.

The Council will have five seats on the ballot, including three general seats and the seat in both Zone 1 and Zone 4. Currently Ryan Stanley, Miranda Lewis, and Dan McCreary hold the general seats. Gary Shaw holds the Zone 1 seat and Mike Seibert holds the seat in Zone 4. All seats would be elected for a term of four years. 

In order to be eligible, citizens are required to be a qualified voter and have been a Joplin resident for at least four years immediately prior to the election. They will also be required to show their voter identification card to the City Clerk when applying for the election.

General seat candidates should obtain 150 signatures from registered Joplin voters throughout the city.  Zone candidates need to live in the zone they are seeking a position, and will need to obtain 150 signatures from registered Joplin voters, with 75 of those coming from the represented zone.  Zone elections are included in the citywide ballot. All candidates will also be required to sign a declaration of candidacy with the City Clerk’s office.

Candidates can seek the state requirements for filing financial reports on their campaigns through the County Clerks’ offices.

The City Clerk will provide a booklet on “Council Election Guidelines” to interested parties. It can also be found on the City’s website at . For more information, contact the Joplin City Clerk on the second floor of City Hall, 602 South Main or call 624-0820, ext. 220.