News Flash

City News

Posted on: November 6, 2019

Filing period for April 2020 Council candidacy opens November 19

Citizens interested in running for a City Council seat in April 2020 may pick up their nominating petitions from the City Clerk starting Tuesday, November 19, 2019. Petitions must be returned to the City Clerk by 5 p.m., Tuesday, January 14, 2020 to be eligible for the April 7, 2020 election.

The Council will have five seats on the ballot, including three general seats and the seat in both Zone 2 and Zone 3. Currently Taylor Brown, Anthony Monteleone, and Keenan Cortez hold the general seats. Melodee Colbert-Kean holds the Zone 2 seat and Phil Stinnett holds the seat in Zone 3. All seats would be elected for a term of four years. 

In order to be eligible, citizens are required to be a qualified voter and have been a Joplin resident for at least four years immediately prior to the election. Those who are seeking election within Council Zone 2 or 3 should be residents and qualified voters within the respective zone that they file as a candidate. Candidates will also be required to show their voter identification card to the City Clerk when applying for the election.

Nominations of candidates for all elective offices shall be by petition. General seat candidates should obtain 150 signatures from registered Joplin voters throughout the city.  Zone candidates will need to obtain 150 signatures from registered Joplin voters, with 75 of those coming from the represented zone.  Zone elections are included in the citywide ballot. All candidates will also be required to sign a declaration of candidacy with the City Clerk’s office.

Candidates can seek the state requirements for filing financial reports on their campaigns through the Missouri Ethics Commission.

The City Clerk will provide a booklet on Council Election Guidelines to interested parties. (To download this document, please use the link provided.) For more information, contact the Joplin City Clerk on the second floor of City Hall, 602 South Main or call 624-0820, ext. 220.

Council Election Guidelines...
Facebook Twitter Email